Posted on Nov 21, 2017
The three Rotary clubs in Abbotsford gathered on Thursday, November 16th to honour their respective ‘Rotarians of the Year’ at the annual Don Funk Awards Evening. Mayor Henry Braun attended as the guest speaker and spoke about the value of volunteers in the community and how the City of Abbotsford is one of the most giving cities in all of Canada.
The Don Funk Awards were established in honour of the late Don Funk of the Abbotsford Rotary Club who was an outstanding Rotarian and had been awarded the prestigious Rotary International “Service Above Self” award for arranging a large shipments of medical equipment to third world countries.
Receiving the awards this year were Stewart Greaves of the Abbotsford-Matsqui club, Michael Adkins of the Abbotsford-Sumas Club and Henry Savard of the Abbotsford Club.
Stewart Greaves is a dedicated Rotarian in the Abbotsford-Matsqui club joining the club in 2012, having previously been a member of the Salmon Arm Club. He has worked tirelessly behind the scenes in the role of treasurer for the club since 2013. He exemplifies Service Above Self in quietly taking on any task asked of him and always with a smile. Stuart has also contributed to the community outside of Rotary in his role as manager at the Aldergrove Credit Union, supporting many downtown Abbotsford activities.
Michael Adkins, a 23-year Rotarian and member of the Abbotsford-Sumas club has served the club as trustee, board member, committee chair and a mentor.  He also serves on charities such as Fraser Valley Health Care Foundation, the institute for Canadian Citizenship, Literacy Matters Abbotsford, Community in Bloom, the Salvation Army, Little Free Library, and Cottage/Worthington Pavilion. He and his wife have been recognized as major donors to the Rotary Foundation. He currently serves as Assistant District Governor for Rotary District 5050.
Henry Savard of the Abbotsford Rotary Club has been a Rotarian since 1973, the majority with the Abbotsford Club. He has served as President, Treasurer and as a member of the club’s board of directors for many years. He has Chaired and sat on multiple club committees working diligently to keep the club on track to reach its goals each year. Henry is a Multiple Paul Harris Fellow and has always given of his time, treasure and talent in so many ways. He demonstrates dedication to community and Service Above Self.  He is respected by all fellow club members, is a truly wonderful person, who is kind hearted, loyal and most deserving of this prestigious award.
Photo L-R are: Mayor Henry Braun, Velma Braun, Henry Savard - Abbotsford Rotary Club, Stewart Greaves - Abbotsford-Matsqui Rotary Club, Stacey Irwin - President Abbotsford Rotary Club, Rick Barkwell - President Abbotsford-Sumas Rotary Club, Alexis Eagles - President Abbotsford-Matsqui Club, Mike Adkins - Abbotsford-Sumas Rotary Club