New President for the Rotary Club of Abbotsford

(Abbotsford, BC) – The Rotary Club of Abbotsford is pleased to announce the installation of Sara Lawson as President of the Rotary Club of Abbotsford, effective July 1, 2016.  Sara has been a member of the Rotary Club of Abbotsford since 2011 and has served on the Board as Secretary and President-Elect.
An active and committed Rotarian, Sara has also been in the funeral profession for 18 years as a funeral director and embalmer.  She has been serving grieving families in Abbotsford since 2000 and is the managing director of Henderson’s Fraser Valley Funeral Home, part of the Dignity Memorial group of funeral homes. Sara also cares for the bereaved as a volunteer with Abbotsford Hospice Society as a facilitator of children and teen grief groups, focusing on helping families who struggle with how best to support their children through grief.  Sara is also an active member of the Abbotsford Executive Association, and is in her fourth year as a director on the board of the Abbotsford Chamber of Commerce.  Sara and her husband Tom have 2 young children who remind them every day to delight in the simple things in life.
“I joined Rotary 5 years ago to use my skills and talents to best contribute to society beyond my roles at home and work.  The Rotary Club of Abbotsford has given me that opportunity well beyond my expectations!  I am passionate about leading this club as we continue to make an impact on people’s lives.  With this year’s Rotary theme of ‘Rotary Serving Humanity’, I am reminded that our club is not just a fun place to visit with friends once a week.  Rotary is the world’s largest and most established service club and has a purpose of serving those in our communities and around the world.  I am excited and honored to lead our group of dedicated and talented Rotarians to do our part to change the world one person at a time.”
Also inducted to the board of directors were: Stacey Irwin, Bill Bramwell, Carla Cadieux, Andrea Lingren, Karen McLean, Joanne Field, Doris Woodman-McMillan, Shirley Wilson, David Inwood, David Lordon, Bruce Beck and Leslie McConnell.