Abbotsford, BC) – The Rotary Club of Abbotsford presented the prestigious Paul Harris Fellowship Awards to seven outstanding individuals in recognition of their exceptional service to our community.


This recognition, named after Paul Harris the founder of Rotary International, is bestowed to both members of the local club and community individuals who have given outstanding service to their organization and community. 

In addition to this award, $1000 is donated to the Rotary Foundation on each individual’s behalf. “The purpose of the Rotary Foundation is to make a difference in the lives of millions around the world,” said Ron Kelly, Chair of the Rotary Foundation Committee, who goes on to say, “donations to the Foundation allows Rotary to improve communities by promoting peace, preventing disease, bolstering economic development and providing clean water and sanitations.

On November 19th, awards were presented to Abe Konrad, Gordon Holloway, Martin Silverstein, Sherri Wacker, Bob Johnson, George Ferguson and Kevin MacDonald.  Each of these recipients exemplifies the Rotary motto “Service Above Self” in their contribution to the community.

All seven recipients have given tirelessly to their professional vocation, lent their leadership skills, experience and business services to charities, organizations, and projects throughout the Fraser Valley. Rotary Club President Angelo Rea said, “our community is a better place because of these recipients, they lead by example and their commitment continues to enhance the lives of many by giving their time, knowledge and/or monetary support.”

The Rotary Club of Abbotsford wishes to congratulate all of the recipients for their commitment and ongoing dedication to the community. Their significant contributions to Abbotsford are immeasurable and truly inspire us all.