(Abbotsford, BC) – The Annual Don Funk Memorial Award was presented on November 12th to three outstanding and exemplary Rotarians. For the first time, all three Rotary Clubs in Abbotsford gave the award to multiple recipients as they celebrated at an interclub luncheon at the Sandman Inn in Abbotsford. The recipients were Cors DeLint from the Rotary Club of Abbotsford, Tom McMillan from the Rotary Club Abbotsford-Sumas, and Matt Robinson from the Rotary Club of Abbotsford-Matsqui.

Each Rotarian was acknowledged by their Rotary Club President and presented with a Paul Harris Fellowship. DeLint, McMillan and Robinson have contributed greatly to their clubs and Rotary International over their many years of service to Rotary. They have given selflessly to Rotary projects at local and international levels. All three recipients are committed, passionate leaders and share in the Rotary motto “Service Above Self”.

Don Funk was a member of the Rotary Club of Abbotsford and is remembered as a kind and generous man who gave countless hours in volunteer service. The Rotary Club of Abbotsford established the Don Funk Memorial Award in his honor to recognize an Abbotsford Rotarian(s) who has demonstrated outstanding club service and involvement in community or international projects.

Don received Rotary International’s highest honor, the “Service Above Self” award in 2000 as a result of his efforts in collecting used hospital equipment from BC Hospitals for distribution to 3rd world countries, along with many other acts of service in his 22 years as a Rotarian.

Members of Funk’s family were present at the luncheon to honor and congratulate the three recipients including his brother Ken Funk, his sisters Judy Armstrong and Ingrid Chow, and his nephew Mark Dana.

Each Rotary club makes one nomination each year, and the three serving presidents collectively select the award recipient(s).




Left to Right:  Cors DeLint (Award Recipient), Ingrid Chow (Sister), Judy Armstrong (Sister), Angelo Rea, (President, Abbotsford), Ken Funk (Brother), Kim Hissink, (President, Abbotsford-Sumas), Tom McMillan (Award Recipient) and Burt van Dalfsen (President, Abbotsford-Matsqui)

Missing: Matt Robinson (Award Recipient)